top of page
  • beverleymiles4

My first hour... or was that the finest hour!

Updated: Mar 5, 2019

This is where it all starts - only 99 hours to go!


Stewart gets creative

I spent my first hour of work experience with Stewart who showed such care in helping me to set up this blog. Stewart's committment to the task was great and we discovered together how to create and manage a blog. What an achievement! This would have daunted a lesser man but not Stewart who showed great courage in stepping into unkown territory demonstrating not only his highly competent IT skills but also his huge heart for the role he has at Care for Veterans in promoting and communicating their work and ethos. Thank you Stewart for your compassion towards a somewhat helpless colleague who now knows more than she thought about doing a blog!

Stewart clearly loves working as Marketing and PR Officer in promoting the life and work of the home to the outside world. Stewart says that ' I love my job because it is so varied; I get to use so many different skills and try so many different things, every day is different. I’m motivated by helping people and making a difference, and working for a charity like Care for Veterans is extremely fulfilling. I get to see the residents every day, which motivates you to do all you can to help.'


Tyron leads the Care for Veterans gang at the 10k with Stewart 3rd from left

Stewart loves running and this picture shows him at last year’s Worthing 10k race, pictured with other fundraisers and also resident, Tyron, who they pushed around the course in his wheelchair. He says that working here 'also inspires my running and other exercise I take part in; some of our residents became ill in later life, or had an accident which has severely impaired their mobility and aren’t able to do the things they used to do. I run because I can; I never take it for granted. '


As part of the promotion of the home for this centenary year Stewart aranged for a video of all the staff to go onto the website It was great fun to make and I hope you enjoy watching it so click here to view ...


Interesting fact about Stewart's role 'The rebranding of The Queen Alexandra Hospital Home to Care for Veterans was one of the most interesting projects I’ve ever been involved in. Changing the name of a 100-year-old charity was a daunting prospect, but it has been very worthwhile for both the organisation, and for me personally.'


Amazing statistic ; Stewart has over 42,500 pictures in the Care for Veterans' archive, ranging from the charity's inception in 1919 up to the present day.


Thank you Stewart - and keep up the great work you are doing. You have certainly inspired me and taught me a new skill today! But it might be a while before I join you out running .....


27 views0 comments
bottom of page